The Writing “Bible”

I read about the writing ‘bible’ while I was writing my second novel. The basic idea is that you place all of the stuff about your story in one easily accessible and preferably organized location. It sounded like a great idea and as I wrote I formed a huge file about my second novel, but I didn’t realize how useful a ‘bible’ was until I was between novels trying to figure out what to write next. Going through stacks of old writing I kept finding little scraps of stories that were quite good but…I didn’t remember anything about the back story or where I’d planed to go with them. I knew that I’d had really detailed ideas, but they were like wisps of dust in the wind at that point. So I started writing ‘bibles’ for each of the stories that I did remember. It was tedious, but because I was between books I didn’t really have anything better to do.

Then the time came when all that work paid off.

It was about six months later and I came across my ‘bible’ for a fantasy story. I read through the notes, read the first chapters I’d written and started writing. It was as if I’d never been away from it at all. Magic.

So now I make a file for all my ideas even the ones that I’m not sure I will want to complete because, if I ever want to work on it again its as easy as reading through the file and starting work. Nothing is lost and time is completely saved. Why not do it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Writing “Bible”

  1. Pingback: Organizing Novels | Silver Pen

Leave a Reply

