Scene Transitions

Scenes in books and novels need to flow along in a logical and interesting progression. I find writing scenes to be fun. They generally have a beginning a middle and an end, just like a book, however I have a bit of trouble transitioning between them sometimes. After some experimenting and reading I have decided that there are two main ways people transition between scenes.

The leisurely transition: using the minutiae of everyday life. I’ve found that Mary Stewart often uses activity’s like going for a walk or shopping to add tension to her story’s.  Unfortunately when I try to use this kind of thing to transition between scenes it usually feels like what it is: filler.  So I don’t use this tool as much as I probably could. When I read books using it well its a sign that a writer is very good at what they do.

The abrupt transition: from action to action. I make use of this transition with better results, although sometimes I think it comes across as a bit choppy. But as long as I have all of the essential parts in my narrative I feel safer with it.

Neither way is better than the other intrinsically but each one will convey a different overall tone and pace to the novel. Slow pacing is good for beginnings and adding tension, but its hard to judge whether the reader is involved or bored. Fast pacing can keep a reader entertained or make them tired. Its a difficult balance that I struggle to maintain in everything I write.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

