Pain Medications

I use both Acetaminophen and  Naproxen for things like headache, muscle ache, and fever. Unfortunately I didn’t check if they were safe for me. When I did I found that I can’t take them.

Safeway brand Acetaminophen AKA(Tylenol)–I was unable to determine what exactly Acetaminophen is made from originally. The web would only tell me its chemical parts and how they interact with other chemicals. I would have to do some serious research to find out where this stuff comes from, but it doesn’t -sound- like fat.

The label lists: flavors, hypromellose, polyethylene glycol, polysorbate 80, povidone, sodium starch glycolate*, starch, stearic acid, sucralose, and titanium dioxide.

I know that hypromellose is an emulsifier so its questionable but there was no mention online of what it is derived from and some emulsifiers such as microcrystalline cellulose are made from wood and are not probably not fat. Although perhaps trees have fat in them that can be processed out?

Also Polysorbate 80 and stearic acid are bad for me.

Safeway brand Naproxen (AKA–Aleve) Again I was unable to find out where this chemical is usually derived from.  I know it is heavily treated in a lab. “brominated in methylene chloride” “methylated with methyl chloride in water isopropanol” “treated with magnesium and zinc chloride” “coupled with ethyl bromopropionate” Unfortunately I have no idea what any of that means except that it sounds energy intensive and hard to do. The original chemicals could be derived from fat or corn oil for all I know.

Listed on the bottle: FD&C no.2 aluminum lake, polyethylene glycol, Magnesium stearate, Hypromellose, microcrystalline cellulose, povidone, talc, and titanium dioxide.

Most of the ingredients seemed to be okay. The questionable ones are:  Hypromellose– questionable but I was unable to determine where its usually derived and Microcrystalline cellulose which I mentioned above which is made from wood and is probably okay unless there is more fat in trees than I previously supposed.

There is only one I know to be bad: Magnesium stearate— where they take two molecules of stearic acid (a fatty acid) and bind them to magnesium to make a salt.

So after realizing that I could not take them I tried to come up with some alternatives.

The last headache I got I suffered through. It was hell, and I decided I was going to need to try something better.  Turns out a cocktail of Vitamin C, Alpha Lipoic Acid, feverfew and a nap worked fairly well on the next headache.  I was a little fragile when I woke up but I didn’t hurt anymore. Since I’ve noticed then if I take the cocktail early in the headache I can stave it off.

I read that a warm bath with vinegar or powdered ginger will help bring a fever down about two degrees. Ginger actually made me feel hotter although it helped with my period cramps a ton. So next time I will try vinegar. Although I will be tempted to hold my nose.

I have yet to figure something out for muscle ache. I wonder if the Vitamin C and Alpha Lipoic Acid combo would work?

This entry was posted in Health, Oil Intolerance, Oils and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

