Oil in Tea?

You might be looking at my post title and be thinking that I’m nuts, but in fact there is a lot of soy lecithin added to tea. Its added for mouth feel apparently.  I only found one kind on my kitchen shelf (pictured below) but when I was at my boyfriends house I noticed that many of his teas actually contain soy lecithin. (Including my favorite chocolate tea.)

Tea Box

Ingredents: Eleuthero, peppermint, cinnamon, ginger, chamomile, west indian lemongrass, licorice, catnip, tilia flowers, natural lemon flavor with other natural flavor (contains soy letcithin), hops and vitiminsB6 and B12.

Ingredents: Eleuthero, peppermint, cinnamon, ginger, chamomile, west indian lemongrass, licorice, catnip, tilia flowers, natural lemon flavor with other natural flavor (contains soy letcithin), hops and vitiminsB6 and B12.

I don’t really drink tea anymore for several reasons. I never had a fondness for herbal tea, although I will drink it to put me to sleep or help with a tummy issue. I think herbal tea seems more medicinal than recreational.  Black tea on the other hand was a great favorite and I drank that for years even after I quit drinking caffeine I switched to decaf.

Then one day I read about how the tea plant naturally accumulates fluoride in its leaves. Apparently one cup of tea has many times the recommended safe daily dose of fluoride.  At the time I was suffering from serious tendonitis and one of the odd symptoms of fluoride poisoning is tendonitis.

I decided on the spot to quit drinking tea to see if it could help with the pain. What was surprising was that my wrists healed up. I had been in such pain that I couldn’t hold a pencil and within a week or two I was able to actuality lift things again.   It could be a coincidence but I haven’t been able to justify drinking real tea after that. Still I have an occasional cup of herbal tea so I have been very careful since my boyfriend pointed out the added oils to me.

This entry was posted in Health, Oil Intolerance, Oils and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

