Pickled Carrots

I’ve been experimenting with pro-biotic foods in an effort to get my digestive system into some semblance of healthy. I’ve tried Pro-biotic Lemonade which is awesome and this week I tried making lacto-fermented carrots. I did not make a full jar because I was scared I wouldn’t like them. But after two days of fermenting they tasted pretty good, slightly sour, a little sweet but nice and crunchy. I decided to stop while I still liked them.  Perhaps next time I’ll experiment with letting them sit longer.

Pickled Carrots

  • 1 tablespoon whey
  • 1/2 tablespoon salt
  • Carrots
  • Distilled water
  • One pint jar
  • Smaller jar to sit on the top of the carrots until they go in fridge

Wash the carrots and chop them into matchstick sized pieces. To fill the jar use three  medium sized carrots. Once the carrots are chopped place them in a bowl with salt and whey. Mix well with your hands. Try and squish out some carrot juice as you do this step. Transfer the carrots to the jar making sure to move as much of the liquid in as possible. Use the small jar to weigh down the carrots and fill the rest of the jar with water so that carrots are completely covered. Leave out at room temp for several days. Once fermented to taste, remove small jar and use lid to cover and place in refrigerator.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

