Vegetable Chowder

Went a little crazy on the vegetables this week.

Went a little crazy on the vegetables this week.

I bought a lot of vegetables this week. Everything looked so fresh and lovely. I justified it by saying that last week we managed to eat everything we bought. My goal is to finish everything by Thursday. (Except the carrots, and half of the celery and cauliflower because they keep.) I’m not as sure that we will make it, but in the spirit of trying I made chowder. Last week it tasted so good I decided to try it again. This time I forgot to add the bacon. It tasted okay but I promptly made bacon and added it afterwords because its not nearly as tasty without.

I buy the uncured expensive bacon at my co op. As I understand it the only difference between cured and uncured is the kind of nitrates that they use to preserve the bacon. Chemical in regular store bought and celery salt in ‘uncured’. Both kinds are cured using the same process. But regular bacon gives my mom migraines so we don’t buy it. Anyways I think it tastes better.

I also used some potato starch because I ran out of rice flour. It works. You can use wheat flour if you can eat it. Its not low carb because of the potato, but I tell myself, potatoes are a good carb. Besides, they are tasty.

Vegetable Chowder

Makes four or five servings of chowder. You can add almost any vegetable to this.

  • 1 or 2 potatoes
  • 4 cups chicken broth (more if necessary)
  • 3 strips of bacon
  • Half a bunch of celery
  • One parsnip
  • 4 Tablespoons butter or lard
  • ½ cup rice flour
  • ½ cup heavy cream
  • 3 bay leaves
  • Oregano
  • Thyme
  • Dill
  • Pepper

Wash, peel and chop potatoes into one inch squares. Boil in chicken broth till a fork can split them easily. Remove from heat and set aside. Meanwhile cook bacon till crisp, place bacon on paper towel reserving the drippings. Wash and chop celery and parsnip. Fry in bacon grease with added butter or other fat over medium heat until slightly browned. (I had to do two batches) Put potato pot back on med low heat, add celery, parsnip, and crumble in the bacon. In the same pan the celery was cooked in, heat butter over medium low heat. Add flour a little at a time. (You may need to add more butter) Let the mixture bubble and sizzle till it smells brown. Add spoonfuls of the soup mixture as you continue to stir, until you have a nice thick roux. Once thick add to soup pot. Continuing to stir, add cream slowly. Add bay leaves and other spices. Continue to cook over low heat for an hour. Simmer, DO NOT BOIL. The cream will congeal horribly if you do. Remove bay leaves before serving hot. Re-heat over low heat.

This entry was posted in Health, Oil Intolerance, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

