Low Carb Breakfast Sandwich

I will admit I hardly ever eat these for breakfast, but for some reason I think of them as breakfast food, hence the name.  I use an almond flour ‘bun’ that I modified from a almond pancake recipe and place whatever I want on top. My boyfriend makes two pancakes so as to make it more of a sandwich but that takes longer so I usually make open faced sandwiches. This recipe can make either one big pancake or two little ones.

Canadian bacon, fried egg and cheese, on top of a low carb almond flour 'bun'.

Canadian bacon, fried egg and cheese, on top of a low carb almond flour ‘bun’.

Low Carb “Bun”

  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • Butter for frying

Heat a small 4 or 6 inch pan over med low heat. You want the heat low enough that butter will brown, but not burn. When the pan is hot, add butter to the pan. Blend egg, sugar, and almond flour in a small bowl. Pour the mixture into the hot pan and spread out into a large pancake. Cook for 5 minutes on each side. Serve with whatever toppings sound delicious.

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

