Gluten Free Sugar Pie

Rhubarb pie season is here! I love rhubarb pie. Only thing is that we are not eating gluten and most of the gluten free pie crusts I’ve tired have been awful so I was worried that we might end up breaking our diet just so that we could appreciate the season properly. I know how bad that sounds but I’m not sure how worth living life is without pie. Last night I tired out Gluten Free Mamas almond all purpose mix on  sugar pie. No reason to waste perfectly good rhubarb on bad pie crust right? Well it turned out great. Its not perfect but it tastes good enough that it would fool the casual eater and I liked both the taste and texture. It also wasn’t too difficult to mix or roll out. Some gluten free pie crusts have been just dreadful to roll out.

No discussion of pie would be complete without talking about fat. After all pie crust is simply fat, flour, and liquid. Since I can’t eat commercial fats I have to go with what I can eat.  Lard really makes the best pie crust; anyone who tells you Crisco makes the best has probably never had real lard pie crust. That being said most people don’t actually have lard around the house. Chicken fat is my second favorite fat for crust. It doesn’t taste at all like chicken to me and it has a really flaky quality. Third choice would be butter. Its heavier than either lard or chicken fat but has more flavor.

Gluten free sugar pie!

Gluten free sugar pie!

Gluten Free Sugar Pie

This makes enough for three servings of sugar pie, and is not enough to make a pie crust. You would need to double this to make two 9″ pie crusts.

  • 1/2 cup Gluten Free Mamas almond all purpose mix
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons lard
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 or 2 teaspoons cold water
  • Cinnamon sugar

Cut the lard in to the flour mixture to a fine granular consistency. Then cut in the butter to a pea sized consistency. I use my fingers and rub it in. Drip water in, one drop at a time until dough holds together well. Press into a ball. Roll out on a well floured board (gluten free flour) lay out on a cookie sheet prick all over with a fork and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Bake at 350 for 15 or so minutes until done. Cool completely before eating.

This entry was posted in Oil Intolerance, Oils, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

