Spring Salad

It is spring and thus I am plagued by allergies. Every time I turn around I am knocked over the head with them and I have to take a whole bunch of extra vitamins and herbs to keep them in check.

Interestingly many green vegetables that are just coming into season are loaded with the very things that I take in pill form to help with my allergies. Because I already crave green vegetables it only makes sense to indulge in lots of green salads. After all it can’t hurt right?

I can make a great vinaigrette with melted butter rather than oil. It doesn’t look the same as a traditional vinaigrette but it tastes just as good if not better.

One of the greens that I can find really fresh in my garden this time of year is dandelion. They are great growers, everyone knows them as weeds. Dandelions have lots of vitamins and minerals as well as other good compounds for health. Because they are bitter they encourage the liver and gall bladder to dump bile and help the body digest food properly. Dandelions are a lot sweeter and yummier in the spring too, because they are so young. Last year I made a point of scattering a big puffball of dandelion seeds over my little garden plot, I still ended up hunting around my condos garden beds to find some extra greens for our first dandelion salad.

Fresh from the garden.

Fresh from the garden.

This is what my handful looked like when I dug them up. I could have just snipped off the tops but I wanted to make some dried dandelion roots for later teas, so I took the whole plant. Which led to a bit more washing and chopping.

Delicious

Delicious

Dandelion Salad

  • Shredded sweet potato
  • Butter
  • Dandelion greens
  • Soft goat cheese
  • Sugar snap peas
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper

In a pan heat two or three tablespoons of butter till sizzling over medium low heat. Sprinkle in sweet potato shreds. Turn temperature down so that it remains sizzling but will not burn. Cook for ten minutes before turning and cooking until the shreds are crispy and lightly brown, about ten more minutes. Turn onto a plate to cool.

Melt another tablespoon of butter in pan, whisk in red wine vinegar and a little garlic powder to taste.

On your salad plates mix dandelion greens with snap peas. Sprinkle with crispy sweet potato and goat cheese. Drizzle the red wine vinaigrette over the top, sprinkle with salt and pepper and serve.

The crispy sweet potatoes serve almost as a crouton and the peas balance out the bitterness of the greens.

Ever eaten dandelions? Did you enjoy them?

This entry was posted in Health, Oils, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

