Hummus and PreBiotics

Home made hummus is fairly simple and very helpful for the digestive system.

Home made hummus is fairly simple and very helpful for the digestive system.

The other week I was listening to a Sean Croxten podcast and the speaker explained why pre-biotics were important. Up until then I’d kind of thought they were one of those fake things but the speaker not only explained how much they help but also how easy they were to add to your diet. He suggested eating a few teaspoons of hummus a day. I shrugged and said why not. It’s not like I’ve never eaten hummus and I like it, so whats the harm? I have never liked the type of hummus made from whole garbanzo beans but I did like the store bought box mixes and I had one on the shelf. It was easy enough to eat a few teaspoons of humus a day for a week. The results were amazing. I have noticed that everything to do with my bowels is easier. Everything. The really fine thing about it is the benefits last even if you don’t manage to eat something pre-biotic every day.

I found this out because after the first week I discovered that the box mix I like is not sold anywhere anymore so I had to scramble a bit to find a different way to make a tasty hummus. The texture that I like comes from garbanzo bean flour aka chickpea flour. Which was easy enough to buy at the co-op, but there were some stumbling blocks, although my first efforts were acceptable it took some experimentation to make it really tasty. A lot of recipes call for tahini and olive oil. In order to make hummus taste smooth and delicious a certain amount of fat is necessary. Melted butter works great. Turns out that tahini was not necessary. I will try making some sometime but for now I’m glad to avoid the hassle.

I include my completed and very yummy recipe for hummus.

Hummus

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup chickpea flour (Garbanzo)
  • 1/8 teaspoon powdered garlic
  • 1/8 teaspoon cumin, ground (scant)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt (scant)
  • 1/2 lemon, juice of
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  1. Pour 1/2 of the 3/4 cup of water in sauce pan.
  2. Add spices.
  3. Whisk in the garbanzo bean flour to make a paste.
  4. Whisk in slowly the remaining water.
  5. Add butter.
  6. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally.
  7. Continue stirring and simmer for 3 minutes.
  8. Remove from heat, stir in lemon juice, eat hot or refrigerated. Keep refrigerated.
  9. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Health, Oil Intolerance, Oils, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

