Hash

Technically hash is basically leftovers fried up with potatoes and or eggs. Most cultures have some form of traditional dish that qualifies and can get quite exciting. My hash is a hold over from when I was a very picky eater and is very simple and basically consists of the same ingredients every time. It’s comfort food and is great for days when I don’t have any idea what else to cook.

The trick to this recipe is cooking everything on just above low heat, you want your pan to be hot enough but not so high as to burn anything if it cooks for a long time. Which it will.

In order to have bacon around all the time, I freeze it in individual strips on a cookie sheet and once frozen solid, I place them in a large plastic bag in the freezer.

I shred my potatoes into water which helps remove some of the starch, making the final hash browns crispier. If left in a covered bowl with water covering them, the shredded potatoes keep for up to a week in the refrigerator.

This recipe makes enough for two.

Hash

  • Three slices of bacon
  • 2 Tbs butter
  • 2/3 cup shredded potato or sweet potato
  • 2 or 3 Eggs
  • Cheese
  • Herbs

I preheat my 10 or 12 inch stainless steel skillet so its hot enough that a drop of water sizzles and then turn it down to a notch above low. I then fry up three strips of bacon until crispy, turning once. Depending on the bacon it can take 15-20 minutes to get done. I place the bacon on a plate to cool and add the two tablespoons of butter to the hot pan with the bacon drippings. When the butter is finished bubbling and completely melted I add shredded potatoes. Regular potatoes take less time to cook than sweet potatoes, 20 minutes instead of 30, but both need to be turned over in the middle of cooking when the first side had gotten crispy and golden brown. When the hash browns second side is finished cooking I beat up some eggs and pour them over the top of the shredded potatoes. I then crumble up the cooked bacon, sprinkle it, the cheese and herbs over the top of the eggs. When the first side of the eggs have set I flip them over and let the other side cook for a minute or two more. When the eggs are done I divide onto plates and serve.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

