Anhydrous Milk Fat

I have added another item to my oil list.  Anhydrous Milk Fat. I found it in a soft cheese that I have loved since childhood. The Laughing Cow.

Anhydrous Milk Fat

Anhydrous Milk Fat

When I looked it up, the term butter oil was used synonymously with anhydrous milk fat so I assume the terms are used interchangeably.

What is it?

According to the University of Guelph website, it is a shelf stable fat made from butter or cream. When it is made from butter, it is preferable to use butter that is at least a few weeks old. It is melted and passed it through a centrifuge to concentrate the fat to 99.5% or greater. They then heat it to 90-95oC and vacuum cool it before packing it up.

When using cream, first the cream is concentrated to 75% or greater in a hermetic solids-ejecting separator using mechanical action and a centrifuge.  Basically the machine beats the fats out of the cream in a liquid form. Then this liquid fat is concentrated to 99.5% or greater in a hermetic separator. (I wasn’t clear if this was done in a different machine or not.) I assume the resulting fat is then packaged in the same fashion as the fat from butter.

Butter oil made me horribly sick. I would assume that Anhydrous Milk Fat would too.

This entry was posted in Health, Oil Intolerance, Oils and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

