Meaty Pancakes

IMG_20150923_185859834

Salmon cakes

One of my favorite things to do with leftover salmon is make salmon cakes or as the French call them, croquettes. The basic recipe is to mix crumbled salmon with egg and breadcrumbs to make little pancakes that are then fried. But after being on a lower carbohydrate diet for a few years we never had breadcrumbs just sitting around the way we used to. I found in order to make any recipe that used breadcrumbs I had to first plan to make bread, which was not convenient at all. Making what had been a quick easy dinner a long laborious plan ahead dinner.  At some point I wondered why I couldn’t use pancake batter to bind the salmon meat together. My test batch turned out remarkably tasty. They were also easy to mix up and ladle onto the pan to cook. Much less messy than forming little cakes with my hands.

So when I had some leftover beef sitting around I decided to try making it into pancakes the same way. They turned out lovely. Perhaps a bit more work than the fish but still almost addictively good. Soon after I tried using leftover pork and chicken. I have not been disappointed. These cakes are not low in carbohydrates because they have actual flour in them. But the carbohydrates are buffered with protein and there is only about 11 grams of carbohydrate in each pancake. I figure its okay to eat them every so often because they are remarkably filling and its hard to eat more than three of them in a sitting.

  • 88grams of carb for the whole recipe (Mamas flour)
  • Makes about 8 pancakes
  • Thus 11 grams per pancake
Beef cakes

Beef cakes

Meaty Pancakes

  • 8 to 12 ounces of meat any kind
  • One egg
  • 1/2 cup mama gluten free almond flour mix (wheat flour would also work)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 Tablespoon melted butter plus more for cooking
  • 1/2 milk (more or less)

I break up the meat first. If its salmon I use my hands and smash it up into an almost paste if its any of the other three I chop it into one inch chunks and throw it into my vitamix and turn it into pate. I once just chopped up some beef very fine with a sharp knife. That worked too. Then I set the meat aside and turn on my pan for cooking the pancakes. The griddle needs to be hot enough to brown but not burn. I generally have to adjust the temperature several times over the course of cooking the pancakes. At this point I place the tablespoon of butter in the griddle to melt while I mix the remaining ingredients. In a small bowl I beat up the egg, mix in salt, flour, baking powder,and half of the milk to make a smooth runny batter. Then I beat in the melted butter and fold in the meat. It will clump up and then I add enough milk to make the mixture thin enough to fall off the fork but not so thin as to puddle. It should be kind of like a runny tuna salad. At this point your griddle should be hot and you can cook up each pancake. Depending on the heat they can take anywhere between 2-3 minutes per side. Cook both sides till done. Serve hot, with sour cream or ketchup. Leftovers can be kept covered in the fridge and reheated or eaten cold the next day.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

