Where to Find Oils in Beverages

Mostly though a process of trial and error it took me a while to figure that out that it’s just as important to be careful in choosing what to drink as what to eat.  For some reason I thought that beverages were exempt from containing oils. Boy was I wrong! Beverages often contain oils and oil derivatives.

The most unfortunate place I have found oils is in fruit juices and sodas. This is because surfactants or emulsifiers used often don’t have to be listed on the label, either because they are in tiny quantities, only came in contact with one ingredient before being added, or are not deemed to significantly contribute to the products flavor or consistency.  I avoid soda and juice mostly because I got sick off a bottle of lemon juice that listed lemons as it’s only ingredient.

I talk about homogenized milk causing me issues on a post here. Basically I’m fine with raw or pasteurized dairy but homogenization gives my stomach  issues. Someone recently commented that many of the vitamins added to milk are derived from oils so keep an eye out for that if you notice milk issues.

Here are a few examples I found of commonly sold beverages found in the grocery store aisle that contain oils.

This is a picture of a hot chocolate label, you can see that it lists both mono and diglycerides and hydrogenated coconut oil which are both on my no-no list. But it also has dried milk. I’m not 100% sure that the fats in dried milk cause me problems but I’ve read that these milk fats are pretty distorted and cause heart problems in animal studies so if you have any difficulties with digesting fats this might be something to look out for.

Contains Mono and Diglycerides,  Hydrogenated coconut oil, and dried milk.

Contains Mono and Diglycerides, Hydrogenated coconut oil, and dried milk.

Next is a dry powdered lemonade. It has “natural flavor” but it also has a known oil derivative “soy lecithin”.

Contains both soy lecithin, and natural flavor.

Contains both soy lecithin, and natural flavor.

These next three beverages all have the same problem, they list “Natural Flavor”. Unfortunately that term covers a multitude of things and some of them can be oils or oil derivatives. Of course oils are not always in products that list natural flavor, but since they could be I stopped consuming foods with it listed on the packaging and found that I felt a lot better. Natural Flavoring can also hide MSG.

 Natural Flavors is a catch all term that could mean oils.

Chai: Natural Flavors is a catch all term that could mean oils.

Chocolate Milk with no Chocolate!

Chocolate Milk with no Chocolate!

The dreaded: Natural Flavor label!

Powdered Orange Drink: with natural flavor.

Also remember that teas often contain hidden soy lecithin. Read my post about that here.

As I said I drank a lot of these things for years before figuring out that they contained oils. Hopefully this post can save someone else from some of my mistakes.

 

 

This entry was posted in Health, Oil Intolerance, Oils and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

