Homemade Ranch Dressing

Ranch Dressing is a classic.

Ranch Dressing is a classic.

I like ranch dressing both on salad or as a dip for carrots but none of the home made versions that I tried really did it for me until I finally found the right ingredient: celery. Yep. Dried celery powder can mimic that almost irresistible flavor that makes commercial ranch dressing so yummy.  I make my own dried celery powder by drying celery leaves and grinding them up, but you can buy celery salt at the store. Which is the same thing with added salt. If using celery salt, reduce or eliminate salt from the recipe. It is possible to add more spices, but I find I’m very happy with this mix. Use yogurt or buttermilk in place of sour cream to add more tang to the dressing.

Ranch Dressing

  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp paprika (I like to use a smokey variety but plain works great too)
  • 1/4 tsp celery powder

Mix all spices into sour cream and consume with delight.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

