Steak with Mushroom Gravy

Baked potato with sour cream is a nice side.

Baked potato with sour cream is a nice side dish.

Yesterday I made steak for dinner and since I had some mushrooms I added them to the gravy. I make steak at least once a week because it’s quick and easy and the leftovers are good for making into other meals. The longest part is getting the steak ready to cook.

Steak with Mushroom Gravy

I usually make this with petite sirloin, but last night we had top sirloin

  • Steak
  • Butter
  • Broth or water
  • Mushrooms (I used canned)
  • Rice flour (works with white wheat flour too)

I’ve found steak needs to be at room temperature when cooked to make sure that it cooks through. When steak is cold it takes too long for the heat to penetrate, leaving the middle raw or the outside overcooked. The easiest way to make sure its at room temp is to let it sit uncovered on a plate for a few hours. This is actually quite safe because bacteria only can land on the outside of the meat which is going to be cooked.  If I don’t have time to bring the steak up to temp the slow way it can be put in a shallow pan of warm water for twenty or twenty minutes. Sometimes the water needs to be changed once to keep it warm. This works, although the meat looses some of its juices and looks sort of pasty.

I use a eight inch stainless steal frying pan and once the steak is at room temperature I heat the pan up for five minutes or so. Its crucial that the pan be hot, but not so hot that it will burn the meat. I flick water on the bottom to tell, if the water droplets form balls and stand in the pan its too hot, if they take one or two seconds to sizzle off the bottom into steam, its perfect.

Once the pan is hot I add the meat and cook it for five to eight minutes on each side. I like my steak still pink in the middle but its easy to cook it longer it you want it well done.

After the steak is done, I transfer it to a plate to sit, and add a tablespoon or two of butter to the pan. Once melted I add the mushrooms and cook them through. If the butter was absorbed by the mushrooms (which it usually is when using fresh mushrooms) I add more before stirring in a tablespoon of rice flour to form a roux. When the flour is completely stirred into the butter, I add enough broth or water to cover the bottom of the pan, about a half cup or less. Then I scrape up the brown bits into a sauce. When the sauce thickens I pour it over the steak and serve.

In the picture you can see I had baked potatoes on the side.  Without including the time the steak spent warming up, the whole recipe took twenty-five minutes to prepare. If the mushrooms had been fresh it would have taken about ten more minutes to brown them. It’s best if I have all the ingredients for gravy at hand when the meat comes out of the pan because the gravy goes together in a minute or two and seconds are critical.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

