Diaper Cream

I wrote about the hand salve I use for my dry skin and eczema the other week. But this week I thought I would share my recipe for my baby’s diaper cream. All of the diaper creams I’ve looked at have industrial oils in them. I have a commercial diaper cream that I use for those really tough rashes on her bottom, and when I use it I am very careful to wash my hands and keep them away from my face afterwords. Still for every day use my home made version works for prevention and rashes that haven’t taken complete hold and I don’t have to fear for my safety. I know it is possible to buy little glass pots for homemade salves but I just used the top part of a pill organizer that I bought at the dollar store but wasn’t using. It holds enough and was something I already had. Instead of lanolin, melted beeswax would work.

Diaper Cream

  • 1 teaspoon lanolin
  • 1/2 teaspoon hand salve (or a hard fat such as tallow lard or duck fat)
  • 1/2 teaspoon zinc oxide powder

Mix all ingredients together in a small container that has a good lid.

This entry was posted in Health, Oil Intolerance, Oils, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

