Hidden Ingredients– Sanitizers/ Disinfectants

In the past I have talked about how how manufactures are not legally obligated to list every ingredient that goes into a product.  For the allergic or the sensitive this can be a minor annoyance or a huge problem.

On her blog Corn Allergy Girl talks about how this impacts her life. Reading about her struggles made me grateful that even though oils are found in lots of weird places there are many foods that are completely safe that I can eat without worrying about setting off a reaction.

One of the places that hidden ingredients make it into products through manufacturing but are excluded from the label is in cleaning products. This is a huge problem for those who are corn allergic because so many sanitizers and disinfecting products are made from corn and are used on every kind of food or food making equipment imaginable. It seems to me that if a person has an allergic problem with oils, reacting to particles in the air or from traces on the skin this might be a worry since a lot of soaps and cleansers contain fragrances that have oil carriers. If a person is that sensitive to oils then trace amounts of sanitizer used to clean equipment might cause a reaction. I personally don’t react to oils or oil derivatives on my skin so far.  I know I had a problem with sanitizers on my skin and in the air when I worked in food service but I haven’t noticed a reaction to traces on surfaces.

Read my other post about hidden ingredients. Flowing/anti-caking agents

 

This entry was posted in Oil Intolerance, Oils, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hidden Ingredients– Sanitizers/ Disinfectants

  1. Sherry says:

    I have the problem with breathing, touching and eating canola oil. I have to avoid even walking by some restraunts. I have to avoid sample tables at stores. ( costco and Sam’s) I do tend to order online and driving up for pick up. Safest way for me.

  2. Julie says:

    Not sure where to put this question. First I cannot tolerate oil – but I don’t know what to do when invited to friend’s for a meal. Out of politeness I should eat everything. Then suffer!

Leave a Reply

